Filippo Giorgi

Filippo Giorgi the head of the Earth System Physics (ESP) section at ICTP (International Centre for Theoretical Physics).

Giorgi is an international expert in climate modeling and climate change research. He authored or co-authored over 200 papers in peer-reviewed scientific journals and is included in the list of most highly cited scientists in the geosciences (which places him in the top 0.5% of this category). He has been PI or co-PI of over 25 research grants in Europe and the U.S.  From 2002 to 2008 Giorgi was one of the vice chairs of Working Group I of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which won the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. He contributed to all five IPCC Assessment Reports to date. Giorgi is a member of a number of top international scientific committees, and in particular the WMO/ICSU/IOC Joint Scientific Committee (JSC) of the World Climate Research Program (WCRP), which supervises the research activities of WCRP.